The Privy Council.—The British North America Act of 1867 (Sect. 11) provides for "a Council to aid and advise in the Government of Canada, to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada...". At present it consists of about 110 members sworn of the Council by the Governor General on the advice of the Prime Minister. Membership in the Privy Council is for life so that Privy Councillors include both former and present Ministers of the Crown as well as a number of persons who have been, from time to time as an honour, sworn as Privy Councillors; these include members of the Royal Family, past and present Commonwealth Prime Ministers, and former Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons of Canada. The Council seldom meets as a body and its constitutional responsibilities as adviser to the Crown in respect to Canada are performed exclusively by a Committee; the membership thereof, with a few historical exceptions, is identical to that of the Cabinet of the Day. A clear distinction between the functions of the Committee of the Privy Council and the Cabinet is rarely made and actually the terms, "Council" and "Cabinet", are commonly employed as synonyms.

5.—Members of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada According to Seniority Therein, as at Apr. 30, 1963

Note.—In this list the prefix "Rt. Hon." indicates membership in the British Privy Council.

Member ¹	Date When Sworn In	Member ¹	Date When Sworn In
Hon. Thomas Alexander Crerar. Hon. Henry Herbert Stevens. Hon. Edward James McMurray Rt. Hon. Charles Vincent Massey H.R.H. The Duke of Windsor. Hon. Donald Matheson Sutherland. Hon. Thomas Gerow Murphy Hon. William Earl Rowe. Hon. Charles Gavan Power. Rt. Hon. James Lorimer Ilsley Hon. Joseph Enoil Michaud. Hon. Colin William George Gibson. Hon. Joseph Thorarinn Thorson. Hon. William Ferdinand Alphonse Turgeon. Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent. Rt. Hon. Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill. Hon. Andrew George Latta McNaughton. Hon. Joseph Arthur Jean. Hon. Lionel Chevrier ² . Hon. Paul Joseph James Martin ² . Hon. Douglas Charles Abbott. Hon. Wishart McLea Robertson. Hon. Milton Fowler Gregg. Hon. Robert Wellington Mayhew. Rt. Hon. Lester Bowles Pearson ³ . Hon. Stuart Sinclair Garson. Hon. Robert Henry Winters. Hon. Frederick Gordon Bradley. Hon. Charles Jost Burchell Hon. Charles Jost Burchell Hon. Gabriel Edouard Rinfret Hon. Walter Edward Harris.	Oct. 12, 1917 Sept. 21, 1921 Nov. 14, 1923 Sept. 16, 1925 Aug. 2, 1927 Aug. 7, 1930 Aug. 7, 1930 Aug. 30, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 July 8, 1940 June 11, 1941 Oct. 8, 1941 Dec. 10, 1941 Dec. 29, 1941 Nov. 2, 1944 Apr. 18, 1945 Sept. 4, 1945 Sept. 4, 1945 Sept. 10, 1948 Nov. 15, 1948 Nov. 15, 1948 Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 Aug. 25, 1949 Jan. 18, 1950	Hon. Jean Lesage. Hon. George Carlyle Marler. Hon. Roch Pinard. Hon. Herbert J. Symington. Hon. Louis René Beaudoin. Hon. Paul Theodore Hellyer². Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker. Hon. Howard Charles Green. Hon. Donald Methuen Fleming. Hon. Alfred Johnson Brooks. Hon. George Hees. Hon. Léon Balcer. Hon. George Randolph Pearkes. Hon. Gordon Churchill. Hon. Edmund Davie Fulton. Hon. George Clyde Nowlan. Hon. Douglas Scott Harkness. Hon. Ellen Louks Fairclough. Hon. J. Angus MacLean Hon. Michael Starr. Hon. William McLean Hamilton. Hon. James Mac Kerras Macdonnell. Hon. Paul Comtois. Hon. Paul Comtois. Hon. Paul Comtois. Hon. Jay Waldo Monteith. Hon. Francis Alvin George Hamilton. H.R.H. The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh. Hon. Raymond Joseph Michael O'Hurley. Hon. Henri Courtemanche. Hon. Doseph Pierre Albert Sévigny. Hon. Hugh John Flemming. Hon. Noël Dorion. Hon. Walier Dinsdale.	Sept. 17, 1953 July 1, 1954 Nov. 26, 1956 Apr. 15, 1957 Apr. 26, 1957 June 21, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 May 12, 1958 May 12, 1958 May 12, 1958 May 12, 1958 Aug. 20, 1959 Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960
Hon. George Prudham. Hon. George Black EARL ALEXANDER OF TUNIS Hon. James Sinclair Hon. Ralph Osborne Campney Hon. William Ross Macdonald ² Hon. George Alexander Drew Hon. John Whitney Pickersgill ²	Aug. 3, 1951 Jan. 29, 1952 Oct. 15, 1952 Oct. 15, 1952 May 12, 1953 May 12, 1953	Hon. Walter Dinsdale. Hon. George Ernest Halpenny. Hon. Robert Henry McGregor. Hon. Walter Morley Aseltine. Hon. Leslie Miscampbell Frost. Hon. Jacques Flynn Hon. John Bracken Hon. Paul Martineau.	Oct. 11, 1960 Dec. 21, 1960 Dec. 28, 1961 Dec. 28, 1961 Dec. 28, 1961 May 4, 1962